Mando Pickin’

Three weeks ago I decided I wanted to learn how to play the mandolin. Random, I know, but why not? I truly believe I have no musical talent, but maybe that will change. One of my very good friends has been helping me out, but he told me I need to go and get some actual lessons by a mandolin person since he is more of a banjo man.

It is pretty interesting that with the chords I have learned, I could play many different songs, but I first have to actually learn them. My goal is to be able to play some killer bluegrass. Notice, I said goal. It’s hard to practice on my own when I have school and work to do, but I will learn it and be able to play “Whiskey Bent and Hell Bound,” as my friend put it because it is based off the chords I am attempting to play.

Meet the mando.

tumblr_mztm6gYSgK1qbm824o1_500

Gold Tone F – Style Mandolin.

Now listen to the first song I am leaning. Dooley.

So far I have the first line down….. Dooley was a good ol’ man he lived below the mill…

Definitely need to practice more.

Until next time.

One thought on “Mando Pickin’

Leave a Reply

